Erik Heerlein’s Weblog

Scar, what scar?

Posted in Personal Health Status by erikheerlein on August 22, 2008

I thought I would give an update and some pics since people have been inquiring as to how things are going.

For those of you who were at the scene of the accident, you saw how I could have had a walk-on role as the “Unsuspecting Victim #4” in any horror movie, no special effects makeup required. Thankfully, I’ve healed up pretty well and there’s only a slight scar between the eyebrows and one on the back of my right hand.

The scar from the surgery on the leg is coming along and it’ll hopefully not be too noticeable but I do think it is going to affect my modeling career for cargo and bermuda shorts.

The section of skin on the right hand side covering the stainless steel plate has about half the sensitivity as it used to due to the nerves having been cut to pull the skin back. It is sort of like that area is under permanent Novocain and I may get full sensitivity back and I may not, we’ll have to see. 

You may have noticed that the hair on my leg is doing just fine and that’s because they didn’t shave my leg before the surgery, which I thought was odd. When I was in the trauma room in Portland, I overheard another patient tell his nurse that he wasn’t ready for surgery because they didn’t shave him. She responded with, “We don’t shave before surgery at this hospital.” and then talked a bit about bacteria.

Either she was making it up so she didn’t have to shave him or it’s the standard protocol nowadays. Post your thoughts in the comments and I’ll ask the surgeon about it when I see him next week.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mahmood said, on August 22, 2008 at 2:57 am

    Do metal detectors go off when you go in and out of stores? Can you detect free WIFI hotspots?

    Glad you are well. Let do lunch some day.

  2. erikheerlein said, on August 22, 2008 at 3:19 am

    The docs said that it’s not enough metal and they don’t know of anybody setting off a metal detector. However, they can sign a card that I could carry in case airport security needs some reassurance.

    I’ve had the foil in a pack of Juicy Fruit gum set one off so I think I’m going to ask for that card.

  3. carpenters said, on August 22, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    how ’bout magnets? do they stick to you? i could send you some seasonal ones to dress up your wardrobe a bit… modeling agencies may be attracted by that. “old navy board shorts: comes with a free, trendy surfboard magnet!”
    love from us

  4. erikheerlein said, on August 22, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    I’m betting I can’t get an MRI anymore but I’m not sure about regular magnets. I’ll have to try that at some point when things are all healed up. I wouldn’t exactly want to run a big ol’ speaker magnet across my leg right now and have a pin come out.


Leave a Reply

